My horses’ works of art: Where does the ‘Fantasy’ come from?

With all that I do in training my horses — when it comes to regular riding, or doing tricks, or painting pictures — I sometimes find myself amazed.  Where does this bond with these animals and our unique ability to communicate come from?

I have a thought on this, and some people might not agree on this but then others might agree with me.

I was raised in a Christian home, and I’ve believed in a Supreme Being my entire life.  At times, I’ve had thoughts that maybe I shouldn’t be doing what I’m doing with my horses, that any money I spend towards their care, feeding and boarding should be put toward other things my family needs.  The thoughts come when times are really tight financially.  But then my husband will talk it through with me, remind me how unhappy I’d be without them, and encourage me to continue using my God-given abilities.

Gypsy just has to get that last stroke in with the brush. (Photos by Randy Kroll)

Gypsy just has to get that last stroke in with the brush. (Photos by Randy Kroll)

Part of what I do with my horses when I perform with them in front of an audience is meant to show that special relationship between humans and horses that I believe was designed by God.  We can communicate with each other in a special way, if we want to take the time to learn how.  I believe that’s what God wants me to do, to show that special relationship, communication, and caring for His creatures.

The last painting I’m featuring this week is particularly an example of that.

This is a painting that was one of the first ever done by Cheyenne, and I call this “Cheyenne’s Fantasy”  because it looks like it is any horse’s dream to live where there is happiness.  Trees, water, green grass, and the hidden part of this painting is a companion.

If you examine it closely, you can see a horse head hidden in the middle of this painting, facing toward the right.  To be completely honest, I had no idea there was a horse head in this painting until another art instructor showed me the horse head, which was utterly surprising to me.  Even along the top of the painting there is a red etching of a horse form that I noticed that is another reminder that horses love the companionship of other horses.

Cheyenne shows her painting skills.

Cheyenne shows her painting skills.

As an artist myself, it was a dream of mine to teach my horses to paint especially after seeing Metro the painting ex-racehorse.  So as there is no book on instructing how to teach a horse to paint, I had to try to devise a plan myself.  It took about 8 months to get Cheyenne to take the dripping brush, full of paint, from my hand and put some marks on the board.  However, it took the use of another horse to truly motivate Cheyenne to paint.  Gypsy is my other horse and she watched Cheyenne and me from the sidelines teaching Cheyenne to paint.  In her own way Gypsy let me know that she wanted to paint as well.  I have written a book to tell the story the way I saw it unfold in front of me.  I love this story of my two horses that played out so beautifully, letting us all know that horses as well as other animals can learn things from each other if they want to.

Gypsy has taught Cheyenne to be a better artist herself by observation and how much I praised her. This caused Cheyenne to try her best at it and become a better artist herself.

I would love to share this story with whoever would love to read it and let others know how much horses and other critters can reason and understand things.  It is a story that is unique all its own.  Please share and encourage others to share as well.

Please feel free to comment.

http://www.amymillerhorsinaround.com/#!httpswwwetsycomshopbarnyardpicasso/ch8a/en/product/id/193619120

Cheyenne's Fantasy

2 thoughts on “My horses’ works of art: Where does the ‘Fantasy’ come from?

  1. That is truly amazing, and I agree with you about having a special bond with animals. My horse Sweetwater, the very first time I saw her I immediately had this connection with her and her with me. She knows what I am thinking and where I want to go or what I want to do when riding her without me giving her any signals or signs. My husband has been truly amazed at the instant connection Sweetwater and I have. I look forward to reading more of your post and seeing more of the art work from one of the most truly amazing animals God ever put on this earth!

    Like

  2. That is awesome that you have that kind of relationship with your horse. They truly are awesome creatures and they can be just as devoted to their human as a dog. I believe we have so much to learn about God through his animals. He loves us an awful lot to give us such wonderful fury friends. We have so much to learn about horses and I want to help let people know that horses mean more to us then the common livestock that can be thrown away at the slaughter house. Keep up the great relationship with your horse throughout her life. Keep sharing with me about your experiences I would love to hear about it.

    Thank you for sharing!!!

    Amy

    Like

Leave a comment